It Happens When You’re Not Paying Attention

It was Christmas morning, the year was 1999. Steven and I had gone to my Mom’s house for the holiday. I was late. Not to my mom’s house, you know, for my “special monthly visitor”. (TMI?? Sorry!) I had already taken a test a couple weeks earlier and it was negative. They always say you should take the test first thing in the morning, so on Christmas Eve, Steven and I drove around looking for some place OPEN so we could buy one. Finally, we found a Walgreens. I woke up first on Christmas morning, hopped off to the bathroom to do my business and saw the positive result. I went back over to Steven and shook him. “Hey, hey, I’m pregnant!!!”  He rolled over and mumbled to himself, “Congratulations”.  Then I heard his snoring. A few minutes later he sat up and said, “Wait, did you say you were pregnant?!”   I’ll never forget it. We didn’t have cell phones and texting like we do now so I went off in search of someone to tell. I found my sister, Amy. I showed her the stick, and with her being 7 years younger than me she just looked at it and said, what is that? What does it mean? I’m pregnant!!  It’s funny how you remember stuff like that.

That Christmas was 13 years ago. Later this year my baby will be a teenager. Yikes. I can’t believe what seems sort of like last year has been that long ago. I know I’ll feel that way again at the other milestones. It’s just crazy to think about.

This weekend, Alex went to his Grandparent’s house for the weekend and when he came home he just LOOKED taller. You know, how kids do that sometimes. They just look BIGGER than the last time you saw them even if it was just a day ago.  So we went to the wall where we do our height measuring to check it out. Sure enough, he was taller than I am. I’m only 5ft and 1/2 inches tall, so it’s not like it’s a major achievement. For us though, it was a milestone. A part of me will always see him as my little Alex. The only Christmas present I even remember from 1999.
Image

Leave a Reply

