Why I Ate a Cheeseburger for Breakfast

Today, for the first time ever, I’m giving blood. Honestly, I don’t really want to. I have this thing with veins. It’s not the needle. Give me a good ole tetanus shot any day! I practically love that epidural needle! Anyway, it’s the idea that something is coming out of my veins that bugs me. I don’t like it when stuff goes IN the vein either. After 5 c-sections I STILL would hide the arm with the IV under the blanket so I would stop thinking about it and make myself light headed. I’m halfway lightheaded RIGHT NOW just thinking about it.

So, why am I doing it?? Well, Alex’s middle school is having a drive and the kids get a special treat if they get someone to go and give blood today. Steven started training for his new job yesterday (yay!) so he can’t go. That leaves me. Of course, I caved to Alex’s begging and pleading and constant handing me the form to sign up.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t always cave. I probably cave way less than a lot of parents, but on this one I couldn’t justify not doing it because of my own fears. It’s a good thing to do. I think. Maybe. I’ll let you know later.

Here’s a random photo of Oliver when we were driving kids to school.Image

Isn’t he cute with his pant leg all wonky and his Backyardigans book? I thought so.

 

 

2 comments on “Why I Ate a Cheeseburger for Breakfast

  1. I learned the hard way that I can’t give blood, but I always feel a little guilty about that every time there’s a blood drive on campus. They say that one blood donation can save as many as three lives.

Leave a Reply

