Hating the Miles in the Middle

  • My sister left this morning. She’s two years older than me, and happens to be my best and oldest friend in the entire world.  Due to some unforeseen circumstances, she had to come down here last week and stay a few days with my family. She brought her two youngest children with her. The unforeseen circumstances took a little longer to deal with and they ended up bunked in our house for a whole 10 days. Despite the fact that our kind of tiny house had 7 children and 3 adults, lots of noise, leaky window ac units, a crap ton of laundry, and the occasional child-melee, it was a wonderful visit. We haven’t spent 10 days together since she lived with me and Steven for a few months way back in 01.

    You see, we live just far enough apart that we only get to see each other a couple times a year. We text daily, or call. I discuss everything with her, from big news, down to what I had for breakfast yesterday and the fact that I think tomorrow I’m going to have a migraine.  There’s not much about me she doesn’t know and vice versa. I love her. And I hate the miles that separate us. It was so nice to be able to run over to the kitchen store with her and browse. Or go go to the pool together with all the kids. Or to just hang out, or watch t.v., together. 

    We often imagine dreamily what it would be like to live closer, but life does not allow that possibility right now. We just say, “Maybe someday.” and go on about our business. So, after she left this morning, and Steven looked at me with all the kindness in the world in his eyes and said, “I knew you’d be sad today, you’re always sad when she goes.” I had to go in the bathroom and cry. I hate crying!  But I did it anyway. And tomorrow I’ll have a migraine. And Ronda already knows.

6 comments on “Hating the Miles in the Middle

  1. mrswrangler says:

    I am glad that you and your sister are close. My sister has nothing to do with any of her family. It was her choice not our we have tried to make peace but she never accepts. I had hoped that I would get a woman when I married who I could share lots with. My sister-in-law has some growing up to do before she can be that woman. I still have hope that my brother and brother-in-law will find wonderful women that I can be close to one day.

  2. Clarita says:

    This makes me cry. I could have written almost every word up there. It just stinks to live so far away from family! 😦 And yet it’s a blessing too, that living away is hard. There are some people that WANT to live far away, where relationships are just sad and broken. I’m so glad for your closeness. And I’m so sad you can’t see each other often. xo

  3. Audrey says:

    All my sisters live over 300 miles away, so I don’t get to see them as much as I’d like. But since they are all quite a bit younger than I am, we aren’t as close as we’d be if we would have been only a couple years apart. In fact, in some ways, I am closer to some of them now than I was when I lived at home!

    But my friend, who is like an older sister to me just moved 500+ miles away, and that is hard. I am going to miss her so much. I hate all those miles in the middle, too!

  4. ARKellogg says:

    Such a beautiful post. I miss my sister too and spending my niece and nephew.

  5. Peach says:

    I don’t have a sister, but you made me cry.

Leave a Reply

