Of Cats and Babies

Way back when I was pregnant with Alex, a good solid 14 years ago, I had this crazy dream. It was about cats. We’d be sitting in the living room and a couple cats would walk across the floor. Where did those cats come from? They were getting in somewhere in the house. Suddenly there were MORE cats. They were everywhere! I was  picking them up and tossing them out the door and shutting it really fast so they couldn’t get back in. When I’d turn around though, there would be even MORE in there.  I couldn’t stop the influx of cats! I remember that dream from time to time and laugh about it.

Steven brought it up last night. He said, our life is kind of like that dream with the cats, only it’s children.

Image

 

About a month ago, after being sick, and tired, and late, I decided, against my better judgment (or so I thought at the time) to take a pregnancy test. You see, I’d had my tubes tied 3 years before when Oliver was born. But I thought, I can easily rule that out. So I headed over to Fred’s to get a pregnancy test. They’re only like $1.50 there and plus, I probably wouldn’t see anyone I knew, right? So I got two tests, and I got some pads too, just in case. At the checkout the girl looks at me funny, I said, “Well, I’m gonna need either the test or the pads, right?”

I had worked late that day, it was like 7:30 pm. I immediately took the test in the  bathroom and bam, that thing was positive so fast. I was like, uh huh. I took the second one. Positive. These are cheap, I thought to myself. So I went  back to Fred’s and got a trusty old EPT. The same girl was there. She just looked at me funny. I said, “I didn’t believe the others.”   Guess what? It was positive too.

After some phone calls and a visit with a nurse, some of my initial fears were set to rest. I was afraid it was a tubal pregnancy, after all, my tubes weren’t even supposed to be connected to my uterus anymore, what if something went wrong? Thankfully, everything was where it was supposed to be.

The new reality? We’d been the recipients of a miracle.

Image 

That tiny little smudge with a heartbeat is a new family member. We expect his or her arrival in early May. 

So you see, even though we childproofed my body, they still get in. 

24 comments on “Of Cats and Babies

  1. Clarita says:

    I LOVE THIS POST!!
    And I love your love for this new little person already, unexpected though he/she is! 🙂 It is a lucky little person to have you for a mommy!

  2. mrswrangler says:

    Congrats. Life has a way of sneaking blessing into your life.

  3. 4kidsonemom says:

    Love this and love you!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Yay!!! Congratulations Beth. So excited what God has in store for your family. 🙂

  5. Rachel says:

    I lost you in the great “Xanga Shuffle” and just found you again this week, and just in time for such big news! Congrats!! I still say the Lord sent us our last surprise cause he new we wouldn’t try for a girl any other way! 🙂 It could happen….

  6. Michelle says:

    This is like the news of the month! So much for child-proofing, huh?

  7. Shannon says:

    YAY again! Just have to say I have thought about you so many times since I saw this on FB and I just smile every time. Praying for pink. 🙂 Can you imagine how much she would get doted on. 🙂

  8. amber says:

    Love this! Love you!!!

  9. Thelma says:

    love this post! such a great read:-)

  10. Shanda says:

    When I read your comment on my site about coffee making you sick I knew, I KNEW what was up! But the best part of all was reading your story…what an amazing surprise from God. I love your attitude about the whole thing…it’s heartwarming, children are a blessing and each one is welcome. You’re a great mom and I can’t wait to read about your pregnancy..will be praying for you!

  11. amber says:

    wish i could LIKE shanda’s comment.. i so agree. your attitude and yes, you’re a great mom!! =))

  12. Jessica says:

    I am still so excited for you. I am just living vicariously. I wish we could have a miracle like that but with no uterus that is impossible! Praying for pink! I have always called Isaiah our unexpected blessing, at times I say it just to remind myself not to kill him. 🙂

  13. tessfull2 says:

    Love this 🙂 So excited for you. I love that everyone is cheering for pink.

  14. Luci Martin says:

    So glad to have found you again, Beth! (I knew you were here, but I am honestly so laaazy with my blog reading right now. 😦 ) And I can’t tell you how much your announcement on Facebook affected me. I thought of it for days. I had my tubes tied after the 6th and I keep wondering what the chances are….??? I think I’d be excited too, because after you’ve done what you can to prevent things and they still happen, you know it’s gotta be good, right???!! I think your little girl is so lucky. Sorry….I just can’t help but hope, pray, wish….. But the boy would be super happiness and coolness too. I hope you feel better by now and are just able to keep on being amazing.

  15. Ashley says:

    Congratulations. 🙂

  16. I LOVE your news! and this funny post. how you talked to the cashier and said witty things. and yes. what others already wrote, your attitude. so happy for you. praying for all EIGHT of you. 🙂

  17. The cat story is killing me! Is it weird that I can totally picture you throwing cats out the door? I’m so crazy, happy for you Beth!

Leave a Reply

