Saturday Morning Potatoes

My Mom and Mema used to make this for breakfast on Saturdays or Sundays sometimes. I find that I usually only make it on a Saturday, only because it’s the only day I actually have time to cook breakfast.

I used 2 potatoes, diced (you can do about a potato per person)
1/2 an onion chopped finely
2 eggs
1tsp oil (optional, unless you’re using a stainless steel pan, in which case you need it)
1/2 cup shredded cheese (optional)
salt and pepper to taste

Start frying the potatoes by themselves, in the oil if you’re using it,  over medium-high heat. They take the longest to cook. I usually start out with high heat, reducing it as they get going.
Add in the onions when the potatoes are about halfway done. Cook until your potatoes reach the level of cooked that you like. For me, I like them soft but kinda crispy on the outside. The onions will slightly caramelize and get just barely brown. They bring a sweetness.
When your potatoes and onions reach the level you like (it’s okay to eat one to test it), turn the heat down to low or off, and crack your eggs in the pan. Scramble with your your utensil in the potatoes until the egg is cooked. Add salt and pepper and put on a plate. Sprinkle cheese over the top.
Other options:
garlic, thyme, cumin and cilantro
my sister uses frozen tater tots, that she slightly thaws before cooking instead of potatoes

This is no fancy pants dish, but you can make it prettier with fresh herbs and whatnot if you feel so inclined. It’s also tasty with some sausage thrown in there, too.

Image

10 comments on “Saturday Morning Potatoes

  1. Shannon says:

    This looks good. My guys are “pancake maniacs” and I get so tired of them so this looks like a treat!

  2. mrswrangler says:

    Looks good I will have to try it.

  3. tessfull2 says:

    I make this as well except I first fry a few pieces of bacon and then cook the tators in a bit of the grease. My kids love it. You have good taste my friend.

  4. YUM! i love potatoes cooked ANY way!!!!!
    and what a bummer bacon doesn’t set well these days – that’s very sad!!!! bacon is my favorite. : )

  5. Audrey says:

    Oops, I commented as a reply to a comment instead of to the post. I hope it doesn’t ruin your day too badly!!

  6. Momto9 says:

    I think this would be enjoyed here!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

