2014 The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, etc. etc.

Well, 2014 is winding to a close. What could I say about a year like this, a year that scared the crap out of me, made me feel alone, reassured me, made me feel loved. All of that. More than that. I learned and felt things this year I could never articulate to other people even if I tried. So below you’ll find a random list of things that happened or that I learned this year.

2014 was the year of the Hospital. The year began with my father-in-law having a stroke. My in-law’s are a huge part of our lives.  He is fine now. It was a long, scary road.

Sweet Jude joined our family and gave us a scare. We were reminded, babies are resilient.
IMG_2809

IMG_2819

IMG_2815

IMG_2825

We were shown miracles and mercy, in unlikely places. Flat out, hands down, no denying it kinds of miracles. How can you not have faith when God puts it in your face that way?

aug14

I’ll never forget the boys piling in the hospital bed with me. Some things just don’t leave you.

aug142

I learned being isolated for days in a row with radiation isn’t really as relaxing as you’d think it would be. I was tired, loopy, and I missed my boys. Just knowing you can’t be around a single other soul, is a weird and lonely thing.

I learned the thyroid affects a lot of things you never think about until you have a problem with it. And that hormone replacement is life saving, but isn’t quite the same as your own hormones. ha. (So if you’re waiting for me to finish a task you gave me or a favor you asked, you may want to remind me . . . .)

I learned, after being in my new office for almost two months that I didn’t need to remember to bring a screwdriver to put a sign in the place holder outside my door like I was told. I could do it with my own two hands.

I learned that all those times I thought about making a spare key for my office, I should have just gone and done it then, instead of waiting to be locked out. Not that that happened or anything . . .

Life is precious. You get all caught up in the day to day, and all the temporary hardship stuff and you forget it. But every single day, hour, moment we have is a gift not to be wasted. I’ll forget that again, and I’ll waste countless moments, but when I remember to remember, I’ll savor what I can.

IMG_6784

I’m about 65% sure my coffee pot is smarter than I am.

Sometimes, people rise to the occasion if you give them the chance.

Sometimes, people let you down no matter how many chances you give them. But it’s still worthwhile to give chances.

IMG_7290

When I feel like my house is too small, and I’m sad for x, y, and z, I can’t give the boys, I remember we have a house. It may not fit in some magazine, or be fancily designed, but we have one. We have more than most people in the world. We have each other.

IMG_7279

I learned my coworker makes the best turtles in the whole wide world.  I ate them all without sharing. Both times she gave me some.

10403681_10152698063323423_1220792823278940384_n

Apparently I have a major weakness for turtles. Major.

Gifts come in all shapes and sizes.

IMG_7266

Alex can memorize lines like nobody’s business.

IMG_7117

I still love heights. And so does Thomas.

IMG_5997

IMG_7246

If what Garth Brooks says is true, “You aren’t wealthy until you have something money can’t buy.” then I’m freaking loaded.

15 comments on “2014 The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, etc. etc.

  1. Such a wonderful and lovely post. We could use a few miracles ourselves–so prayer to that end appreciated.

  2. 4kidsonemom says:

    Loved LOVED this. And you. 💗

  3. mrswrangler says:

    Love your last family picture.

  4. Kim says:

    Wow that was a year to remember! Hope you will be feeling better this year ! Thanks for sharing!

  5. tessfull2 says:

    Loved this post 🙂 I think I need some of those turtles. God is good in so many ways.. and I like what you said about when you remember to remember you will savor it. Such an outlook truly changes our perspective and mindset.

  6. LifeNotes says:

    I have not visited blog land in ages, but you have reminded me why I need to visit more. you are a jewel! it would be a treat to live closer to you, because i kind of know I could learn a LOT from you! ❤

  7. Clarita says:

    What a big year! I remember some of those things, but not all. Wow. You are one of the strongest, bravest, and most tender women I know. I’m proud to know you and learn from you! xo And here’s to hoping 2015 will be a little less eventful. 🙂

  8. Shanda says:

    Great post. You are a TROOPER, so strong, and doing so well with what’s been handed to you this past year, Beth! You have an awesome family, too. 🙂

  9. wildflowersp says:

    You made me cry! Never share the turtles.

  10. Shannon says:

    I missed this post. What a year for you! You go girl, you fight like a dragon for those boys and I love to see you do it. You are an amazing lady!

  11. Myxl Dove says:

    I just have to say that I have REALLY been missing out by not visiting you frequently! You have spoken many things that have been in my heart and I’m so very grateful for my quiver full of loud, rambunctious, stubborn, opinionated, beautiful, affectionate, God-loving children! And I must apologize for dropping the ball with our letters. I’m hoping to redeem myself in 2015, if given the chance. 🙂 Anyway, wonderful post! ❤

Leave a Reply

