A Mother’s Day Secret 

I’m not going to lie, I love Mother’s Day. I love the little handwritten notes from the boys or the cute checklists from school. I love the cards and the special thanks from Steven and the boys. If they want to handle Sunday lunch today so I don’t have to, I’m all in. 

There are moments, however, that I feel like a fraud in this. I mean, I wouldn’t be a mom if not for them. Steven made me a mom. Those boys, well, they are my world. I’ve got six walking talking miracles.  

 They are so smart, they are hilarious and could they BE any cuter? Jude has been taking his first steps, Oliver is talking nonstop about Mario Brothers, and Thomas is all about the cars these days.  Alex and I have been talking about school and switching from track to cross country in the fall. Isaac is on the last level of Lexia at school meaning he’s reading on a 5th grade level and he just started Lexia this year, in first grade. Elijah’s as sweet as ever, giving me flowers he picked on his birthday. 

That’s all just now. It doesn’t include the years of hugs and cuddles and fun.  If anything, Mother’s Day always makes me pray, please let me be the kind of Mom they are glad to have on Mother’s Day. We’ve had some struggles and there will be plenty more of that, I know. I hope that I will remember to ask forgiveness when I need to and to offer forgiveness when they need it. 

On this day they say they are glad to have me but I know the truth. I’m the lucky one here. 

4 comments on “A Mother’s Day Secret 

  1. mrswrangler says:

    Happy Mother’s Day

  2. Rebekah says:

    Aww. the last line is perfect. and yes, they are adorable.

  3. Great post and yeah–mom’s are the ones blessed. hugs.

  4. Rachel says:

    you certainly do have a bunch of handsome sons.

Leave a Reply

