Some Lessons are Learned the Hard Way

We were getting ready to leave for school and work this morning when it happened. Steven’s been staying home with Oliver and Jude during the day right now and I drop the others off at school on my way to work. It was already after 7:30, and I had made my trip down the hall and through the house saying the usual, “Get in the car, it’s time to GO!” at the various locations where they were each puttering away. I was right behind them grabbing my purse, and my leftover-from-one-of-them-from another-school-year-spiderman lunch box, when Oliver wandered in the kitchen having just gotten up. He needed to toss his pull up in the trash and his drawer didn’t have any fresh underwear. So I had to go rifle around to find a clean pair for him. As I’m coming back down the hall, Elijah comes running in the house. “My mouth is on FIRE! My mouth hurts!” In a whirlwind he rushes past to the bathroom and while I’m about to turn and go follow him, Isaac zooms past me saying “My mouth!” and heads for the other bathroom. I won’t lie, I was thinking, “What the what??” Then Alex comes in, same story and finally Thomas heads for the kitchen sink. I find myself wondering did some street bug sprayer go by while they were getting in the car? Did they eat something? I couldn’t figure it out.

Finally, they start meandering back towards the door and I hear the word “Mace” and “Thomas”. Then I know what happened. “Thomas, did you spray my pepper spray in the car?” He replies, “I didn’t know it would do that!” I just shake my head. I go out there and roll down the windows turning the ac on high to air it out. I had to wipe the residue off the driver’s seat where the spray actually landed. They were just hit with the residual air spray that filled the car.

I go in and tell them it’s all clear now. When they’ve all gone to get in the car I just look across the room at Steven and we are both smirking and chuckling. He said, “Boys.”

After getting in the car I said, “Thomas did it automatically spray when you opened the top?” He said, “No. There was a button so I pushed it.”

“Well, I hope we all learned a lesson about touching Mom’s pepper spray.” I said. In unison they replied “We DID!”

I laughed on the inside, and I’m giving Oliver an extra cookie when I get home for making me delayed getting in the car. I’m pretty sure he single-handedly saved my morning.

Pepper spray

3 comments on “Some Lessons are Learned the Hard Way

  1. mrswrangler says:

    That is a funny story. Your boys sound priceless

  2. Katherine says:

    Ha!! Yes, raising boys~it’s not for the faint-hearted! ♡

  3. That was an awesome story . Go Oliver for saving mom. 😉

Leave a Reply

