While the Chicks are still in the Roost

Sometimes I get so tired and bogged down, and I wake up thinking, how soon is bedtime?? All the lunches and the arguing about random stuff, and the laundry, and the fixing the plates, and the laundry, and the arguing, and everything just gets me exhausted. Did I mention the laundry?

I woke up feeling that way today, on this Tuesday that’s acting a lot like a Monday. After a bit of thinking though, I realized something. All my chicks still live under my roof. They go off to school, and I go off to work but we are home together and we sleep in the same house and operate out of one base. The time for this will pass me by, eventually. I see it happening with my dear friends who have children off to college, and the marines. How weird a time for them, to go to sleep not knowing if your little one has gone to sleep yet, or will for hours. How weird is it to not be able to run them some lunch money (not that you want to because frankly they could have asked for it this morning) or to talk with them about something someone said that day and steer them in the right direction? The day will come when all of us being under one roof is the rarity, with most of us scattered about doing our lives.

So today, amid the arguing and plate fixing and chaos, I’m going to just be glad we’re all together.

Under one roof.

Wearing clothes washed together in the laundry.

fam15

Fam16

6 comments on “While the Chicks are still in the Roost

  1. 4kidsonemom says:

    Yes!! For us parents that have had children leave the nest – it’s very unsettling honestly. Many nights I lay in bed wondering how he is, if he ate a good dinner, if his jeans are clean, etc. Sigh.

  2. Miriam says:

    It does get much easier, when they leave the nest. You miss them, for sure. But when the time comes, you’ll be ready 🙂

  3. Kim says:

    ugg I try not to think about that… Time is going by soo fast ,time really don’t start till you have children, then 13 years passes like a rocket…
    I like your pictures! Hope your feeling well again!

  4. Momto9 says:

    That’s in fact good for me to think about. I have two that have flown the coop. 7 more at home and I want to enjoy them!

  5. tessfull2 says:

    Love how things look when we take the time to find perspective.

Leave a Reply

